Development Environment

Discuss the development of software, tools, libraries and anything else that helps make ps2dev happen.

Moderators: cheriff, Herben

spaaarky21

Development Environment

Post by spaaarky21 »

I am really interested in developing software for PS2 but the dev tools are giving me trouble. I've been programming in C/C++ for over seven years but have always used IDE's (Metrowerks CodeWarrior mostly) and have little direct experience with command line compilers like GCC. I am developing on a Windows system and installed the "PS2Dev Environment for Win32" from ps2dev.org but haven't had any luck using it. The version of Cygwin that comes with it seems a little too incomplete and the included version of GCC gives me an error that a command (I can't remember which one) cannot be found when I try to specify a file. So, what I am wondering is whether anyone has had any luck using a graphic front end with the dev kit - either on Windows or Linux. If so, is there anywhere to download a complete package with the tools and front end? I think an easy to use, all-inclusive development kit with a decent front end would be an unbelievably huge asset to the PS2 development community. Even an online compiler (upload source code and it spits out a binary) like the one at http://www.comeaucomputing.com/tryitout/ would be great.

Also, while I am writing. Is there anywhere on the internet that has a collection of compiled PS2 binaries? I am interested in trying ps2ftp or ps2ftpd but obviously can't compile the code since I can't get the tools setup right. Is there any chance anyone would be willing to compile the ELF for me? :-))

-Brandon

Post by Guest »

Fantastic idea you have there about an IDE, but as far as I know, none exist. In theory, any existing IDE that supports a GNU toolchain could take the cross-compilers, maybe someone else who has done/seen this can speak up.