PMP VLC 0.0.9 Player

Discuss the development of new homebrew software, tools and libraries.

Moderators: cheriff, TyRaNiD

Post Reply
jockyw2001
Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 4:19 pm

Post by jockyw2001 »

Raphael wrote:But maybe you can clean up the code more like jonny did. There are thousands of files, which aren't even compiled afaik. I once tried to find the part in JiniCho's code that does the same as pmp_play_open/pmp_decode_get on jonnys version, but got lost in the jungle and gave up :)
If you manage to do so, probably its possible to integrate my upcoming GUI there too, since I'm aiming at having it run more like a layer above jonnys code, so it will be theoretically possible to completely change the playback code (like exchanging for PMP Mod AVC without much changes).
I'm looking forward to your GUI and will most definitely try to incorporate it in PMP VLC
jonny
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2005 5:46 pm
Contact:

Post by jonny »

JockyW, i really like your app :)
it's the first time i try vlc as server, there is indeed a lot of potential on this
jockyw2001
Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 4:19 pm

Post by jockyw2001 »

Thx jonny, your feedback is very much appreciated :)

ciao, JockyW
azriek
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 5:50 am

Post by azriek »

Hi, this is really the so awaiting for homebrew for me, thanks a lot :)
i couldn't open a .m3u playlist in the integrated browser, i suppose it is not supported yet.

with the following .m3u, vlc (on linux) can tune my pci dvb-t card on a channel and stream it when the psp connects.

Code: Select all

#EXTINF:0,M6
#EXTVLCOPT:http-caching=6000
#EXTVLCOPT:sout=#transcode{vcodec=DIV3,vb=700,width=360,height=272,fps=20,acodec
=vorb,ab=48,channels=2}:duplicate{dst=std{access=http,mux=ogg,url=0.0.0.0:1234}}
#EXTVLCOPT:sout-keep
#EXTVLCOPT:dvb-frequency=658000000
#EXTVLCOPT:dvb-adapter=0
#EXTVLCOPT:dvb-bandwidth=8
#EXTVLCOPT:program=1025
dvb://
so i can make the same for each channel i want to stream and launch vlc with the --open option, passing the .m3u file .
someone
Idiot
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 9:03 pm

Post by someone »

listen people

The con line in pmp.ini should point to the NAME of the wifi profile, not number what it is

My profile is called Heima

so the line in pmp.ini looks like this for me

con = Heima;


Still, I'm having problems, I get the list of network files, but when I Play them the loading screen just stays on forever, and the wifi light on the psp blinks forever
moontan77
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 10:56 pm

Post by moontan77 »

@jockyw2001


thanks for your dreambox/dbox guide, anyways I found out that in my case con should =1 , however when i click live stream it says loading and then a few secs later it says http://192.168.1.2:1234/: Unknown format

(my laptop ip is 192.168.1.2 )

Do you know what might be wrong?
Last edited by moontan77 on Sat Jun 24, 2006 7:46 am, edited 2 times in total.
Bob535
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 6:52 am

Post by Bob535 »

Must be something I am missing:

PSP 1.5FW, Copied two directories to PSP>Game>
Run VLC
Start Program > Attempt to List > Only dummy files show.

1) The VLC links work in a computer browser from two different computers
2) If I try it, I can see the dummy files in the Video and Music folders after the psp spends some time blinking(or staying on) the Wifi light.
3) I have tried con as "0", "1" and "home" to no effect.

When trying to run a stream I get an error:

http://24.68.133.**:1234/: Error while opening file
I made sure the video is streaming on 1234

Any more ideas as to what I could have done wrong?
Last edited by Bob535 on Sat Jun 24, 2006 7:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
jockyw2001
Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 4:19 pm

Post by jockyw2001 »

someone wrote:The con line in pmp.ini should point to the NAME of the wifi profile, not number what it is
That's new for me, how did you find that out?
To your problem, what type of files are you trying to play?
Probably VLC has difficulties opening the file. You can check that by opening the Messages window from the View menu. And does VLC start playback at all when you select a file in your PSP?

@moontan77:
have you tried to disable the firewall on your laptop?
have you already tried to play a file via VLC? If that doesn't work then playing a live stream from your dbox will also fail. Try that first and same as goes for user someone, check the messages window in VLC in that case too. Your settings look good to me. The only settings which are used when you select live stream are:
[net]
con = 2;
debug = 0;
vlc = 1;

and:
[live]
liveserver = 192.168.1.2;
liveport = 1234;

No other transcode settings are used in that case!

@Bob535:
It's very hard to diagnose your connectivity problem. Did you update the path names in your pmp.ini ? Have you tried disabling your firewall?
moontan77
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 10:56 pm

Post by moontan77 »

turned off firewall but no change, should you be able to see the stream on vlc on your pc/laptop while its being transcoded ( i dont see it , just in case your meant to see it ;) )
Bob535
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 6:52 am

Post by Bob535 »

There is no firewall on my Vlc server pc, the psp is connecting from a wireless router.

Path names follow the pattern f:/Music/

tried placing an mp3 on the psp, plays fine.

Do those EnablePSPStreamingServer files in the VLC directory have to be placed anywhere?
Last edited by Bob535 on Sat Jun 24, 2006 7:56 am, edited 2 times in total.
jockyw2001
Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 4:19 pm

Post by jockyw2001 »

moontan77 wrote:turned off firewall but no change, should you be able to see the stream on vlc on your pc/laptop while its being transcoded ( i dont see it , just in case your meant to see it ;) )
No, you won't see playback on your laptop with just the line:

Code: Select all

:sout=#transcode{vcodec=DIV3,vb=700,width=360,height=272,fps=20,acodec=vorb,ab=48,channels=2}:duplicate{dst=std{access=http,mux=ogg,url=0.0.0.0:1234}}
If you want to monitor whether you receive a stream at all, you can go in the stream settings and check "Play locally". In addition you can open the Messages window and you should see a lot of activity there during transcoding.
moontan77
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 10:56 pm

Post by moontan77 »

Messages window:

ffmpeg debug: found encoder MS MPEG-4 Video v3
main debug: using encoder module "ffmpeg"
main debug: unlocking module "ffmpeg"
libmpeg2 debug: 720x576 (display 720,576), aspect 576000, sar 16:15, 25.000 fps
main warning: dts != current_pts (-422116)
main warning: vout synchro warning: pts != current_date (-40000)
stream_out_transcode debug: drift is too high, resetting master sync
main debug: looking for encoder module: 10 candidates
ffmpeg debug: libavcodec already initialized
ffmpeg debug: removing common factors from framerate
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: found encoder MS MPEG-4 Video v3
main debug: using encoder module "ffmpeg"
stream_out_duplicate debug: duplicated a new stream codec=DIV3 (es=0 group=12003)
main debug: adding a new input
mux_ogg debug: adding input
mux_ogg debug: DIV3 stream
stream_out_duplicate debug: - added for output 0
main debug: looking for video filter2 module: 3 candidates
ffmpeg debug: input: 720x576 I420 -> 360x272 I420
ffmpeg debug: libavcodec already initialized
main debug: using video filter2 module "ffmpeg"
stream_out_transcode debug: drift is too high, resetting master sync
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ffmpeg debug: warning, clipping 1 dct coefficients to -127..127
([email protected])
ts warning: discontinuity received 0x1 instead of 0x0 (pid=163)
ts warning: discontinuity received 0x7 instead of 0xa (pid=105)
ts warning: discontinuity received 0x7 instead of 0x5 (pid=106)
ts warning: discontinuity received 0x3 instead of 0x9 (pid=104)
mpeg_audio debug: emulated startcode (no startcode on following frame)
stream_out_transcode debug: drift is too high, resetting master sync
main warning: backward_pts != dts (720000)
main warning: backward_pts != current_pts (-80000)
main warning: vout synchro warning: pts != current_date (-720000)
stream_out_transcode debug: drift is too high, resetting master sync
ts debug: PMTCallBack called
ts debug: PATCallBack called

doesnt go any further than that
someone
Idiot
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 9:03 pm

Post by someone »

jockyw2001 wrote: That's new for me, how did you find that out?
To your problem, what type of files are you trying to play?
Probably VLC has difficulties opening the file. You can check that by opening the Messages window from the View menu. And does VLC start playback at all when you select a file in your PSP?
The numbers just didn't work for me so I tried typing in the name of the wifi profile I had, and it worked. Thats why I thought people were having problems with "0" and "1" and stuff.

I can now see that VLC puts this in the messages section when I try to play from the PSP

main error: no suitable access module for `X:\episodes\video.avi
jockyw2001
Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 4:19 pm

Post by jockyw2001 »

To all who have trouble to connect PSP to PC do following test:
1. On PSP go into Network Settings
2. Go into "Infrastructure Mode"
3. Select the WiFi profile you intend to use with PMP VLC
4. Click the triangle button and select "Test Connection" from the menu
5. If the test succeeds the IP Address is shown right under the "Encryption" item. Note down that address.
6. Start PMP VLC and click right trigger to start Wifi and network
7. Press Select and then Music from the Media menu
8. If the PSP connects to your WLAN access point or router you should exactly this:
Connecting to Access Point...
connection state 0 of 4
connection state 2 of 4
connection state 4 of 4

=> If not, your WiFi profile number is wrong in pmp.ini <=

9. Press the triangle key to get back in the main screen
10. Open a command window on your PC
11. enter the command: ping 192.168.1.39 (replace with the IP written down in step 5) You should see something like this:

Code: Select all

Pinging 192.168.1.39 with 32 bytes of data&#58;

Reply from 192.168.1.39&#58; bytes=32 time=145ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.1.39&#58; bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.1.39&#58; bytes=32 time=825ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.1.39&#58; bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=255

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.39&#58;
    Packets&#58; Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 &#40;0% loss&#41;,
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds&#58;
    Minimum = 7ms, Maximum = 825ms, Average = 246ms
=> If you don't see this your IP netwerk settings are wrong

@Bob535: are you sure you start WiFi with the right trigger when you are in the main screen of PMP VLC?
Last edited by jockyw2001 on Sat Jun 24, 2006 5:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
moontan77
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 10:56 pm

Post by moontan77 »

Got it to work with dreambox, opened vlc on psp and went to the file selector screen and highlighted live stream without selecting it, then put the the settings in vlc on pc and double clicked ok as described. Than clicked live stream on psp asap and then picture came on psp a few seconds after loading. Picture quality is very good but low frame rate and skipping etc
moontan77
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 10:56 pm

Post by moontan77 »

tried it again like before and frame rate etc is very good !

edit: maybe because i plugged my laptop in! ;)
jockyw2001
Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 4:19 pm

Post by jockyw2001 »

someone wrote:I can now see that VLC puts this in the messages section when I try to play from the PSP

main error: no suitable access module for `X:\episodes\video.avi
Bad luck, VLC can't play that file.
I will upload a test file to Rapidshare in the next minutes. Everyone with probs should try this file first. Here's the link:
http://rapidshare.de/files/23931626/sp02.avi.html
(~12 Mb)

@moontan77: the output looks okay, but when it stops at some point it's not okay. Could mean your laptop is too lame for transcoding. What cpu is in it and how much memory do you have? EDIT: I see you got it too work now. Well that's fine, but I don't understand what went wrong
Last edited by jockyw2001 on Sat Jun 24, 2006 8:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
moontan77
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 10:56 pm

Post by moontan77 »

ah its probably just because my laptop was plugged out and had no network cable connected, so wifi card probably lowers power of its signal when being powered by battery.
jockyw2001
Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 4:19 pm

Post by jockyw2001 »

moontan77 wrote:ah its probably just because my laptop was plugged out and had no network cable connected, so wifi card probably lowers power of its signal when being powered by battery.
Well that reminds me. There is one setting everone should make:
In the "Power Save Settings" make sure you set "WLAN Power Save" to OFF !!
moontan77
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 10:56 pm

Post by moontan77 »

would be cool if it was possible to be send commands from psp to dreambox/dbox to open a certain channel and then a command to vlc on your pc to get it to start transcoding it
jockyw2001
Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 4:19 pm

Post by jockyw2001 »

Bob535 wrote:tried placing an mp3 on the psp, plays fine.
Is that an mp3 you have in your f:/music directory?
Do those EnablePSPStreamingServer files in the VLC directory have to be placed anywhere?
Not quite clear what you mean, but you have to make sure that there is at least 1 file on the memory stick in directory /PSP/VIDEO and at least 1 file in /PSP/MUSIC. The video files you want to stream should be in the videopath you have entered in pmp.ini (e.g. f:/movies, that path must exist on your pc) and music files should be in musicpath (e.g. f:/music)
jockyw2001
Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 4:19 pm

Post by jockyw2001 »

moontan77 wrote:would be cool if it was possible to be send commands from psp to dreambox/dbox to open a certain channel and then a command to vlc on your pc to get it to start transcoding it
Yeah that will be added in a next version (shoulder buttons for channel up and down). But ... it is planned to work with neutrinoTV. See:
http://forum.tuxbox.org/forum/viewtopic ... 0&start=80
moontan77
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 10:56 pm

Post by moontan77 »

If I have a url for a certain channel like rtl and i paste it in my web browser, and the dreambox/dbox opens this channel, it is possible to to get vlc to start to transcode this stream with the settings you use (div3 etc) when the channel is opened ?


In the slim chance that was possible, would it be possible to send this command through http from your psp to dbox/dreambox to open this channel.
jockyw2001
Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 4:19 pm

Post by jockyw2001 »

It can work slightly different. VLC PMP should first send a stop command to VLC, then send a zap channel url to the dreambox and after the channel has changed it should send a new playlist url to VLC followed by a start plaback command. Yes it can all be done, but the priority list looks slightly different atm ...
someone
Idiot
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 9:03 pm

Post by someone »

jockyw2001 wrote: Bad luck, VLC can't play that file.
I will upload a test file to Rapidshare in the next minutes. Everyone with probs should try this file first. Here's the link:
http://rapidshare.de/files/23931626/sp02.avi.html
(~12 Mb)
I just tried that file, same message in VLC

main error: no suitable access module for `X:\episodes\sp02.avi

edit: I get the same error for mp3 files
Last edited by someone on Sat Jun 24, 2006 9:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
Bob535
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 6:52 am

Post by Bob535 »

Right trigger does not do anything as far as I can tell, the network light does not come on until I try to go into a directory. Is the network light supposed to occur when I press right trigger?
jockyw2001
Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 4:19 pm

Post by jockyw2001 »

@someone: hmm, can VLC actually find drive X: and subdir episodes?
What pathes do you have in pmp.ini?

@Bob535: no the light will not come up until you enter the directory. Have you done the ping test described above?
karl
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 9:54 am

Post by karl »

Nice app.
Much better using VLC rather than the pimp streamer. Means i can play videos with ac3 sound!!! :)
My laptop doesn't seem to like how resource intensive it is however. Need to try it on a better machine.

Streaming world cup sounds good!
jockyw2001
Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 4:19 pm

Post by jockyw2001 »

someone wrote: main error: no suitable access module for `X:\episodes\sp02.avi
edit: I get the same error for mp3 files
Looks like your VLC is f*ked.
Uninstall it and check the option to delete preferences and cache. Also delete the VideLAN program directory. Then reinstall VLC 0.8.4a and don't forget to create a shortcut that starts VLC with extra params, copy pspfiles to the http/admin dir and delete .access in that dir too.

If that doesn't help it could be an error in your pmp.ini
reifri
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Germany

Post by reifri »

That was close. I followed the guide to stream from a dbox. VLC got the stream (Network input ca 10Mbit), then I started PMP VLC on PSP and selected Live stream. It said "loading" and the wifi led started flashing. VLC on the PC now had high network ouput. But then after a half minute, the network output decreased to zero and the PSP wifi led stoped flashing. PSP showed blue screen. Next try same error. What could be wrong?
Post Reply