PMP Mod v2.02 & PMP Mod AVC v1.02

Discuss the development of new homebrew software, tools and libraries.

Moderators: cheriff, TyRaNiD

Post Reply
jonny
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2005 5:46 pm
Contact:

Post by jonny »

@cooleyes:

the current player structure expect at least 1 aud frame between 2 vid frames
a bigger number of samples per frame change this behavior
this is the main problem ( not a big problem anyway :P )
pegasus
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:38 pm

hello

Post by pegasus »

hi cooleyes i have k7 pc (Athlon Thunderbird 1.2Ghz)

i DL ur k7 mencoder but i encountered an error?

Image

also i tried the default one
http://rapidshare.de/files/23885627/men ... d.rar.html

but also i got an error??

theres no problem with converting when im encoding the old PMP... with the ORIGINAL K7 mencoder

i DL P3 maybe this works??
Eingang
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:33 am

Post by Eingang »

well okay just wanted to say :

I took some time to make intensive performance tests with avcmod and finally I came to the conclusion that there can not be any scene in any quality and size on psp (up to native resolution) that this player is not able to play 100% smooth and rock stable. This is absolutely amazing and exciting since avcmod works on 119Mhz. It simply means this player ist perfect. Congratulations.

@jonny
you remember this hf-noise in background ?
maybe you could set audio quality up to highest value now in your source, just for testing, and I really ask myself if the player performance stays as it is.... would be nice...

hmmm I really do not know why there should be support for higher resolutions since any movie has to be encoded again and quality won´t get better

jonny, maybe you could even lower clock down to 100 or lower for a test ?
cooleyes
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 3:30 pm

Re: hello

Post by cooleyes »

pegasus wrote:hi cooleyes i have k7 pc (Athlon Thunderbird 1.2Ghz)

i DL ur k7 mencoder but i encountered an error?

Image

also i tried the default one
http://rapidshare.de/files/23885627/men ... d.rar.html

but also i got an error??

theres no problem with converting when im encoding the old PMP... with the ORIGINAL K7 mencoder

i DL P3 maybe this works??
I don't know why, when I build , I just use --targe=athlon-MINGW32;

maybe P3 can work.
pegasus
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:38 pm

hello

Post by pegasus »

@cooleyes

i tried all of them and i got error? the only thing left is the P4 version

i will try this later...

i wonder why.... I also DL MediaCoder,AVItoPMP,XVID4PSP and all of

their mencoder..... i got an error.. OMG! i cant encode AVC!!

the only thing i can use is jonny's x264 but on a 2hr movie it will took me

4hrs, not so good though.

also did you disabled 3dnow??


@all

if anybody encountered these or has solution for these pls dont hesitate to post tnx!
cooleyes
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 3:30 pm

Re: hello

Post by cooleyes »

pegasus wrote:@cooleyes

i tried all of them and i got error? the only thing left is the P4 version

i will try this later...

i wonder why.... also did you disabled 3dnow??

@all

if anybody encountered these or has solution for these pls dont hesitate to post tnx!
that is my configure,

$ ./configure --prefix=/usr --target=athlon-MINGW32 --language=all --enable-wi
n32 --enable-png --enable-real --enable-qtx --enable-jpeg --enable-tga --enable
-mad --enable-freetype --disable-menu --disable-sdl --disable-directx --disable
-gl --disable-win32waveout --disable-ftp --disable-network --disable-winsock2 -
-disable-liblzo --disable-tv --disable-dvb --disable-pthreads --enable-static=
"-mconsole -lwinmm"
mystic_memories
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 8:27 am

Post by mystic_memories »

I've just confirmed that by modifying the /libavcodec/x264.c in mencoder to set the default values that jonny sets in the common.c of x264 (b_aud, b_pictiming, and i_level_idc), I'm able to run the mencoder to encode x264 directly. Apparently some libraries were not loaded correctly when I tried last night. But I'm pretty sure that I don't need to change the mplayer source, since the common.c should handle it when mencoder calls the x264 libraries. I'll try to compile a version on my other Linux box and post the results. So, if you're experiencing frame skipping from mplayer feeding inputs to x264, then you should recompile mplayer with x264 enabled, and encode using mencoder instead.
mystic_memories
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 8:27 am

Post by mystic_memories »

Confirmed that no need to modify the mencoder/mplayer source code, just need to recompile the source with the patched x264. But it won't output the .txt containing the video info if going through the mencoder route. I created the following script to perform cropping, resizing, and also fps detection through mplayer. The first arguement s is square (4:3) or w for widescreen (16:9), and the second arguement is the filename.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
if [ $# -lt 2 ]; then
  echo "Usage: $0 [s|w] file(s)"
  exit -1
fi

TARGET_HEIGHT=272

case "$1" in
  s)
    TARGET_ASPECT="1.33333";
    TARGET_WIDTH=360
    ACTUAL_WIDTH=368
    ;;
  w)
    TARGET_ASPECT="1.77777";
    TARGET_WIDTH=480
    ACTUAL_WIDTH=480
    ;;
  *)
    TARGET_ASPECT="1.77777";
    TARGET_WIDTH=480
    ACTUAL_WIDTH=480
    ;;
esac

for infile in `ls ${2}`; do

  VIDEO_INFO=`mencoder -nosound -ovc raw -endpos .1 "$infile" -o /dev/null | grep "VIDEO:"`
  RESOLUTION=`echo ${VIDEO_INFO} | sed 's/.*\( [0-9]\+x[0-9]\+\).*/\1/' | sed 's/ //'`
  FPS=`echo ${VIDEO_INFO} | sed 's/.*\( [0-9.]\+\) fps.*/\1/' | sed 's/ //'`
  SCALE=1000
  RATE=`echo "${FPS} * ${SCALE}" | bc | sed 's/\..*//g'`
  echo "Rate/Scale: ${RATE} / ${SCALE}"
  ORIG_WIDTH=`echo ${RESOLUTION} | sed 's/x.*//'`
  ORIG_HEIGHT=`echo ${RESOLUTION} | sed 's/.*x//'`
  echo "Original Dimension: ${ORIG_WIDTH}x${ORIG_HEIGHT}"
  ORIG_ASPECT=`echo "scale=5;${ORIG_WIDTH} / ${ORIG_HEIGHT}" | bc`
  echo "Original Aspect: ${ORIG_ASPECT}"
  CROP=""
  if [ ${ORIG_ASPECT} != ${TARGET_ASPECT} ]; then
    echo "Aspect incorrect. Cropping..."
    if &#91;&#91; $&#123;ORIG_ASPECT&#125; < $&#123;TARGET_ASPECT&#125; &#93;&#93;; then
      CROP_WIDTH=$&#123;ORIG_WIDTH&#125;
      CROP_HEIGHT=`echo "$&#123;CROP_WIDTH&#125; / $&#123;TARGET_ASPECT&#125;" | bc | sed 's/\..*//'`
    else
      CROP_HEIGHT=$&#123;ORIG_HEIGHT&#125;
      CROP_WIDTH=`echo "$&#123;CROP_HEIGHT&#125; * $&#123;TARGET_ASPECT&#125;" | bc | sed 's/\..*//'`
    fi
    CROP="crop=$&#123;CROP_WIDTH&#125;&#58;$&#123;CROP_HEIGHT&#125;,"
    echo "Crop to Dimension&#58; $&#123;CROP_WIDTH&#125;x$&#123;CROP_HEIGHT&#125;"
  fi

  mencoder -quiet -nosound -ovc x264 -x264encopts crf=24&#58;bitrate=512 \
    -vf $&#123;CROP&#125;scale=$&#123;TARGET_WIDTH&#125;&#58;$&#123;TARGET_HEIGHT&#125;,expand=&#58;&#58;&#58;&#58;&#58;&#58;16,harddup \
    -o $&#123;infile&#125;.264 "$&#123;infile&#125;"

  mencoder -quiet -really-quiet "$&#123;infile&#125;" -srate 44100 -oac mp3lame \
    -af channels=2,resample=44100&#58;0&#58;2 -lameopts vol=0&#58;mode=0&#58;cbr&#58;br=128 \
    -ovc copy -of rawaudio -o "$&#123;infile&#125;.mp3"

  pmp_muxer_avc.pl -v "$&#123;infile&#125;.264" -a "$&#123;infile&#125;.mp3" -o "$&#123;infile&#125;.pmp" \
    -w $&#123;ACTUAL_WIDTH&#125; -h $&#123;TARGET_HEIGHT&#125; -r $&#123;RATE&#125; -s $&#123;SCALE&#125;

  if &#91;&#91; $? -eq 0 &#93;&#93;; then
    echo "Conversion complete, deleting temporary files"
    rm $&#123;infile&#125;.264
    rm $&#123;infile&#125;.mp3
  fi

done
exit 0
jonny
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2005 5:46 pm
Contact:

Post by jonny »

I took some time to make intensive performance tests with avcmod and finally I came to the conclusion that there can not be any scene in any quality and size on psp (up to native resolution) that this player is not able to play 100% smooth and rock stable.
yup, i've done intensive testing too before going with 120Mhz :)

you remember this hf-noise in background ?
enabling the high quality mp3 decoder needs slightly more than 222Mhz to play 30fps content.
i can give you a build if you want.
btw, have you noticed that random pops are gone?
(finally found the problem, my ears are really not good :)

hmmm I really do not know why there should be support for higher resolutions since any movie has to be encoded again and quality won´t get better
this have to do with the color space used in the mpeg compression.
technically a bigger resolution, resized to 480x272 have more chroma details that a plain 480x272 clip




Confirmed that no need to modify the mencoder/mplayer source code
yep, exactly that i was expecting
But it won't output the .txt containing the video info if going through the mencoder route
this is ok since the file is totally unused if the input of the muxer is avi
(EDIT: looking at your script, you should create an avi with mencoder, this will free you to specify -w -h -s -r)
Eingang
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:33 am

Post by Eingang »

@jonny

>> yup, i've done intensive testing too before going with 120Mhz :)

ehhhmmm :D okaay ..... :)

>> enabling the high quality mp3 decoder needs slightly more than 222Mhz to play 30fps content.
i can give you a build if you want.

yessss, pleeeaaasssse ^^

>> btw, have you noticed that random pops are gone?
(finally found the problem, my ears are really not good :)

hehe what do you think ... ?? Of course I noticed them gone, since I heard them from the beginning....
And this really makes my ears happy .... :) Congrats you could clean this !!!

>> this have to do with the color space used in the mpeg compression.
technically a bigger resolution, resized to 480x272 have more chroma details that a plain 480x272 clip

hmm well I ask myself if this makes a noticeable difference ... and looking forward to test it

thank you !!!
csuper
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 6:19 pm

Post by csuper »

jonny wrote:
(finally found the problem, my ears are really not good :)
Too much rave party , jonny ? ;)

I've tested, me too, a lot PMPMod AVC (+ the IR pugin), nothing goes wrong : GOOD JOB !

Anyway... Happy holidays to you all !

CIAO.

csuper out for a time... ;)
jonny
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2005 5:46 pm
Contact:

Post by jonny »

@Eingang:

here:

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=5N2SOXWM

it runs at 240Mhz (this seems the sweet spot with hq audio enabled)


@csuper:

i guess i've listened too much high volume music when i was a kid :)



EDIT:

@pegasus:

can you try this mencoder?

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=TFHFRZ0P

(anyway mencoder uses x264, don't expect big speed differences)
Eingang
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:33 am

Post by Eingang »

@jonny

very very nice :D
this will stay my personal AVC-Mod .... audio quality is absolutely perfect with hq enabled, performance is perfect, well. There is nothing more to say. I love it. THX.
accepttheownage
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 6:56 am

Post by accepttheownage »

I was pretty disappointed that you still can't encode the full 720x480 in AVC format, but I was amazed when I tried to convert the movie Constantine. I think the pictures speak for themselves. UMD quality!
These captures were taken directly from the PSP without any post processing.

Image

Image

Image

Image
pegasus
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:38 pm

hello

Post by pegasus »

wow jonny you naver fail to amuse me it works!

btw, is this the only option i can use?
"mencoder -nosound -ovc x264 -x264encopts bitrate=512 -vf scale=480:272,harddup -o test.avi 1.avi"

or i can use any video enchancing options like l3x3:1??

edit:

finally my first avc encode using mencoder! hehe

ill figure it out myself tnx jonny and cooleyes..
User avatar
Itaintrite
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 12:32 pm

Post by Itaintrite »

Quick question, if the original fullsize video's bitrate is 1100kbps, will anything above 1100kbps when I convert to AVC be a waste?
therock003
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 11:09 pm

Post by therock003 »

In order to use the guis does it required that you have the patched version of x264 installed on your system?Cause i got an error using mediacoder as well.

It said something like,an error eccorued,no files were createdmcheck the settings,summit like that.

I selected 3 passes h264 bitrate by analysis,mplayer lame joint stereo vbr audio.
Shonen
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 8:52 pm

Post by Shonen »

I think Mediacoder stumbled on the 3-pass setting. Try using singlepass, constant quality: crf 20 (or in Mediacoder, quality slider to 67 or above) and below is roughly equivalent to 768+ kbps, depending on the source. I found crf to be the best of the singlepass methods.

Gave the "HQ-Aud" build a try on FF7AC@crf21/192kbps. The HF-noise *is* gone. I always thought it was an artifact resulting from the conversion of 5:1 AC3 to 2ch MP3..but apparently it isn't, I hooked up my PSP to a set of external speakers and came up with crystal-clear sound. Excellent work, jonny! ^_^

Oh, and perhaps only loosely related to this thread, 2.5/2.6 fw downgrading seems to be on the way. So many, many more can enjoy PMPMod AVC bliss.
pegasus
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:38 pm

hello

Post by pegasus »

mencoder -nosound -ofps 23.976 -ovc x264 -x264encopts bitrate=250:turbo=2:subq=1 -vf scale=480:272,harddup,unsharp=l3x3:1:c3x3:1 -o out.avi "source.avi"

setting to speed things up although less quality than default (not noticeable unless you're in for details) but good for slow pc like mine.. i can get up to 23fps but on default one i can get up to 15fps,
gives you small size too

edit:

i reached 26fps peak on a 1200mhz, 256mb ram

the output is quite superb than its 250kbps counterpart
jonny
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2005 5:46 pm
Contact:

Post by jonny »

@pegasus:

good to see it works

@cooleyes:

i've followed the howto here:

http://www4.mplayerhq.hu/MPlayer/releas ... -Howto.txt

(i think --enable-runtime-cpudetection make this version work / but not sure)
lopoz
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 11:24 pm

Post by lopoz »

accepttheownage wrote:...
These captures were taken directly from the PSP without any post processing....
Would you be so kind as to share your settings with us?

Thanks in advance!
Reckin
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 11:03 am

Post by Reckin »

Getting an error:
"pmp_file_open: invalid file version"
Press X

Pretty sure the file works alot of pple have downloaded and played it without trouble but l'm not so lucky any help would be appreciated.
Using PMP Mod AVC v1.02 to run it.
Reckin
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 11:03 am

Post by Reckin »

Since i cant edit my post, found the problem had to use older version on PMP to get it to work.
therock003
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 11:09 pm

Post by therock003 »

Shonen wrote:I think Mediacoder stumbled on the 3-pass setting. Try using singlepass, constant quality: crf 20 (or in Mediacoder, quality slider to 67 or above) and below is roughly equivalent to 768+ kbps, depending on the source. I found crf to be the best of the singlepass methods.
What's the problem with the multiple passes located?Is it from mediacoder or pmpavc doesn't support more than one?

Also what is the purpose of the bitrate analysis?

thanx.
Khannie
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 9:12 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: small HOWTO: AVC pmp on Linux

Post by Khannie »

606u wrote:As this topic went too long, maybe there is a similar HOWTO in the previous pages...
I just wanted to say thanks for this. :)

I recently removed windows from my home PC and I thought I was scuppered because the x264 doesn't natively support avi files on linux.
xxxstarmanxxx
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 8:52 am

Post by xxxstarmanxxx »

therock003 wrote:
Shonen wrote:I think Mediacoder stumbled on the 3-pass setting. Try using singlepass, constant quality: crf 20 (or in Mediacoder, quality slider to 67 or above) and below is roughly equivalent to 768+ kbps, depending on the source. I found crf to be the best of the singlepass methods.
What's the problem with the multiple passes located?Is it from mediacoder or pmpavc doesn't support more than one?

Also what is the purpose of the bitrate analysis?

thanx.
I assume mediacoder - I currently encode 2 pass x264 with Vdub Mod and have no playback problems on pmp mod avc.


Blade Trinity 2pass x264 @ 768kbps http://files.filefront.com/vdubtestpmp/ ... einfo.html

All the best

J.
Shonen
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 8:52 pm

Post by Shonen »

therock003 wrote:
What's the problem with the multiple passes located?Is it from mediacoder or pmpavc doesn't support more than one?

Also what is the purpose of the bitrate analysis?

thanx.
I think it still is a bug in Mediacoder, or possibly in x264. Remember that even PSPVideo9 itself had some trouble getting 2-pass AVC encoding through ffmpeg to work.

Bitrate control by analysis is similar to the singlepass crf (constant quality) setting, but instead of having to analyse a frame "on the fly", it will determine the bitrate according to the first pass. In contrast, for example, if you select "bitrate control by desired stream size", the encoder will encode the frame according to the set bitrate. This will generally result in better predictable filesizes, but can also result in quality loss in intense scenes like fast action scenes with a lot of transitions and camera sweeps.
accepttheownage
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 6:56 am

Post by accepttheownage »

lopoz wrote:
accepttheownage wrote:...
These captures were taken directly from the PSP without any post processing....
Would you be so kind as to share your settings with us?

Thanks in advance!
my .avs:
Directshowsource("Constantine.mkv")
killaudio
Sharpen(1)
lanczosresize(480, 272)
Tweak(sat=1.4, cont=1.4)
converttoyv12()


bitrate was 1600, original source resolution was 1280x720
jonny
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2005 5:46 pm
Contact:

Post by jonny »

@all:

please, don't abuse too much of this thread
basic encoding questions and discussions about encoding frontends shouldn't be posted here
p5p
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 6:31 pm

Post by p5p »

cooleyes wrote:good job, jonny

there are a new version pmpsplitter release , it support pmp-x264

http://rapidshare.de/files/22835765/Pmp ... 7.rar.html
Have registered the activeX, but cannot playback x264 pmps with windows media player!

Any way to preview the x264 pmps on a Windows PC before moving it to the PSP?

btw: PMPMOD is the greatest app on the PSP so far! Thanks for it!
Post Reply