FPS Gaming on PS3 Linux

Investigation into how Linux on the PS3 might lead to homebrew development.

Moderators: cheriff, emoon

billb

FPS Gaming on PS3 Linux

Post by billb »

I have been playing with FPS games on Yellow Dog 6 for PS3. So far I have the following running using these projects:

vavoom - Doom 1 & 2, Heretic, Hexen, Strife

dxx-rebirth - Descent II

icculus.org - Duke Nukem 3D, Rise of the Triad, Quake II

Anything special I did to get them compiled is described in posts over on the Yellow Dog Community Board. I haven't really done any proper testing of the frame rates, but all are smooth enough to be considered playable & fun. Quake II runs very well. :D

Another one called Aleph One, based on Marathon 2, looks like it would be playable but I'm having problems compiling that one (boost library issue during ./configure).

I am relatively new to Linux and compiling in general ... would love to have some help getting these to run even better, or get suggestions for other FPS projects to check out (that don't require OpenGL). I'm aware of prboom already (nice project, too). Haven't tried prboom-plus yet.

EDIT: Just got the Hexen II demo running with Hammer of Thyrion. Runs great at 960x720, too!
Last edited by billb on Wed Feb 27, 2008 11:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
theBishop

Post by theBishop »

Most projects can be compiled from source with:

./configure --prefix=/usr
make
(as root) make install

if you're missing the boost libraries, try downloading and compiling them from here:
http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile ... up_id=7586
Compound

Post by Compound »

how do these do 3D through SDL? is there a way of blitting opengl functions on top of SDL or something?
theBishop

Post by theBishop »

Compound wrote:how do these do 3D through SDL? is there a way of blitting opengl functions on top of SDL or something?
I think all those games are software rendered. Most of them are not "true 3d".
billb

Post by billb »