RSX or not RSX and need to be pointed into the right dir.

Investigation into how Linux on the PS3 might lead to homebrew development.

Moderators: cheriff, emoon

Glas

RSX or not RSX and need to be pointed into the right dir.

Post by Glas »

Hi to all.

I'm very new to PS3 Dev and I just installed Fedora 7 on my nice PS3 but what are the next steps?

I followed some discussions here and figured out that it is just possible to use the RSX on the PS3. So, my first question is, can someone please give my some hints what I need to develop programms utilizing the rsx.
I mean, what do I have to read through to be able to deploy some nice graphics?
Maybe there are still some threads where similar questions are asked!
This would be nice.

The second question I have is, is it worth it to dive into the RSX topic due to Sonys considerations to completely lock the HV?
And another big Myth to me is, why are some people spending so much time in figuring out which functions or holes are left in the HV when Sony is considering to lock the RSX completely?
Please dont misunderstand me, I appreciate it much, but is worth the spend time? Because at the end, nothing is left from the hard work these people have accomplished!
Why not investigate the time producing a software renderer utilizing the Cell Processor, where you have full support by IBM?
Of course, with the fast and nice rasterizer on the RSX in mind, it is insane
not to use it, but this dosn't help, because Sony makes decisions about the RSX...

Thanks
Alex
d-range

Re: RSX or not RSX and need to be pointed into the right dir

Post by d-range »

Glas wrote:I followed some discussions here and figured out that it is just possible to use the RSX on the PS3. So, my first question is, can someone please give my some hints what I need to develop programms utilizing the rsx.
I mean, what do I have to read through to be able to deploy some nice graphics?