Yellow Dog, Fedora, or Ubuntu for PS3 development?

Investigation into how Linux on the PS3 might lead to homebrew development.

Moderators: cheriff, emoon

lougv22

Yellow Dog, Fedora, or Ubuntu for PS3 development?

Post by lougv22 »

Hi,

I am a total newb at PS3 development, but I want to learn. Here is my question, which flavour of Linux would be the best for home brewn game development on the PS3? Yellow Dog, Ubuntu, or Fedora?

And second question is: I've been reading instructions about installing Linux on the PS3 and it says that you have to format the PS3's hard-drive. Wouldn't that delete all of you game save files?
ps3fanboy

Post by ps3fanboy »

lougv22

Post by lougv22 »

ps3fanboy wrote:maybe this helps:
http://linuxonps3.wordpress.com/
This has instructions about installing Yellow Dog and Fedora. What I was looking was something more of a comparison between the 3 versions of Linux. Why would I pick one over the other sort of thing, in the context of developing simple games on the PS3.
jimparis

Post by jimparis »

They're just flavors... it doesn't really matter, just go with your personal preference.
ps3fanboy

Post by ps3fanboy »

i prefer fedora, because the sdk was tested on fedora and installation is very smooth.
JFReyes

Post by JFReyes »

I started out on YDL 5.02, then Fedora 9 and recently moved to YDL 6.1. Fedora 10 is out already and is great if you're going to be hacking away at the kernel or the apps that come with it, the reason being the fast development cycle those guys keep.

I had a hard time getting Ubuntu 7.10 to install, and gave up.

However, if you prefer a stable development platform -- albeit not necessarily the fastest one -- that takes advantage of all the PS3's features right out of the box (it even includes the Cell SDK), then YDL 6.1 may be for you. Good luck.
José
lougv22

Post by lougv22 »