help installing psptoolchain

A place to post legitimate, console-related project recruitment or commercial employment opportunities.
ViCaelestis

help installing psptoolchain

Post by ViCaelestis »

Okay I've found a few posts with simmilar looking problems but I don't really understand what's being said for their solutions. I've never used Linux environments before so most of this is me looking at what people have said to solve a problem, typing in some line and getting a result.

That dosen't seem to be working in this case, so I appologize if this has been covered already.

My problem is that when I type:

Code: Select all

./toolchain.sh
I get the reply

../depends/check-gcc.sh: line 5: gcc: command not found
ERROR: Install gcc before continuing.
../depends/check-gcc.sh: Failed.
This is simple, it's telling me I need gcc, in the past dependencies just need one .h file to be added to a perticular folder so I went and downloaded the latest source since when I looked for binaries it suggested I use Cygwin and thats what I'm using to opperate this linux stuff on my Win7 pc.

So I used SVN to get the latest source and then went to the folder and used ./configure intending to follow with a make. However where this worked in the past to add dependencies in this case it's coming up with:

configure: error: in `/home/vi/somelocaldir`:
configure: error: no acceptable C compiler found in $path
I'm a little lost as to where to put things or copy code or type to make it work.

Once I get GCC working I should be able to continue the toolchain setup.
If any further info is required please just ask.

Thanks for your patience.
Nick
jimparis

Post by jimparis »

Do what it says and install gcc. Use the cygwin setup program to select and install it.
ViCaelestis

Post by ViCaelestis »