Guide me please

Discuss using and improving Lua and the Lua Player specific to the PSP.

Moderators: Shine, Insert_witty_name

Barcode

Guide me please

Post by Barcode »

I'm totally new to programming and all I've done was some LOGO programming.

I'm sure I can easily "mod" a homebrew game, but I don't know how to start writing my own homebrew from scratch. Anyone mind guiding me? Just tell me what I should do to start and any references that can teach me more about how to write a program on PSP. Thanks.

-Barcode
LuMo

Post by LuMo »

i'm also new to game development (only apps before)
first what you should mind is an idea ;)
so what do you want to create?

greets
LuMo
Barcode

Post by Barcode »

I was thinking of just something basic, yet already been done. Something like The Mario Bros.

If I can learn some of the basic commands in the programming language, then I might be able to start something very very basic.
LuMo

Post by LuMo »

rofl, i am coding on mario bros right now
done:
2P. controls
very basic enemy movement
some sound

greets
LuMo
Barcode

Post by Barcode »

Well thats' nice. Might as well work on some other idea.
LuMo

Post by LuMo »

try tic tac toe, its very very basic
and there are free versions out, in C
where you can have a look on the source
further on luaplayer.org
are some really nice example scripts

greets

LuMo
Benihana

Post by Benihana »

Barcode,