Addresses of GS privileged registers

The dumping ground for the crappiest of posts seen on these forums. Locked for posterity and updated when needed.

Moderators: cheriff, jbit

aap

Addresses of GS privileged registers

Post by aap »

Hi there,
I'm new to ps2dev and while reading some source code I found that the addresses of the GS privileged registers are something like 0x120000XX, so far so good. Then I got me the docs of the PS2 GNU/Linux kit and there it says the address for (as an example) BUSDIR is 0x44 instead of 0x12001040, which I've found everywhere else.
Where do I find the *real* address in the docs? Not that I wouldn't trust you guys but I'd really like to find the correct address of each register in the official information. I think there has to be made some kind of conversion of the values...like 'address of reg' * 16 + 0x12000000 or something similar...it works for the first few registers, but the ones that have an address starting with 0x4 can't be converted this way...

Thanks for any help :)
jbit
Site Admin

Post by jbit »

EE User's Manual, "GS Privileged Registers"
aap

Post by aap »

Doesn't say anything about addresses, does it?
Only some sentences about that privileged registers are mapped to the EE memory space, but I knew that before. I want to find the addresses of these registers as I explained above. It's probably only some sort of calculation, but I can't figure out how I get from, say, 0x48 (which is the value given by the manual) to 0x12001080 (which is the actual address).
Lukasz

Post by Lukasz »

You are looking in the wrong manual, the values you are refering to are in the GS User's Manual.

Like jbit writes, in the EE User's Manual there is a memory map / register map section, where the GS privileged registers are also listed.
aap

Post by aap »