Possibility of secondary bios chip being created?

Discuss the development of new homebrew software, tools and libraries.

Moderators: cheriff, TyRaNiD

n1ckn4m3

Possibility of secondary bios chip being created?

Post by n1ckn4m3 »

OK guys -- don't flame -- I'm not a developer, just had a couple of ideas here:

Would it not be possible to have a secondary bios chip that was switched -- ie, you hit a switch to enable/disable access to it?

This would allow for the chip to be flashed with the 1.0 bios and leave users with the option of keeping their standard bios upgraded for games purposes, but having the 1.0j bios still safely locked away on a chip.

The biggest problem I see is that in order to get the 1.0j bios flashed onto a new chip, would it not have to be decrypted? And if we could decrypt the bios, I'm sure we would negate the necessity of having the 1.0j bios in the first place?

Of course, with the PSP case being so small, I'm not exactly sure WHERE in the case it would go ....

Just an idea -- if it wouldn't work, don't flame, just discuss.

EDIT: After careful researching and consideration, I have noticed that this type of speculation seems frowned upon here, as similar posts have made it into the hall of shame. If this is the case, mods, please delete this post and accept my humble apology.
... anyone up for some l33th4x?

;)
F9zDark

Post by F9zDark »

I do not think it is possible, because first off, modification to the current bios would need to be in place to make it even acknowledge the second one. Kinda like Gigabyte's Dual Bios for motherboards.

Now if both chips were rigged on a switch which only one chip could be turned on at one time, that may be possible, but like you mentioned, where would it go?