threads

Discuss the development of new homebrew software, tools and libraries.

Moderators: cheriff, TyRaNiD

Alberto

threads

Post by Alberto »

Hi all,

sorry for the topic, but couldn't find anything better.

Here's what I need: a procedure that is being constantly called every certain amount of time (I don't care about how often, provided I can count on it being every frame-start, or 60 times a second... I think it should be enough).

I guess this may be done with a separate thread in my application (all I need to do is read the keys and/or analog pad, and store the last-read data in some variables to access them later)

I am very new to using threads (or whatever is necessary to achieve this task); can any of you please shed some light?

Thank you all in advance,
A.
Jim

Post by Jim »

That's pretty much what sceCtrlReadBuffer() does. It reads the keys and then reschedules your thread to run at the next vblank.
so just

Code: Select all

do{
sceCtrlReadBuffer(...);
//i get here once per vblank
} while (!exit_program);
does what you want.

Jim
Alberto

Post by Alberto »

Jim wrote:That's pretty much what sceCtrlReadBuffer() does. It reads the keys and then reschedules your thread to run at the next vblank.
so just

do{
sceCtrlReadBuffer(...);
//i get here once per vblank
} while (!exit_program);
does what you want.

Jim
nope... ehm, what I catually want is something like a function that gets called "automatically", without me to include "check-the-keys();" in my main loop... sorry, to that i can get ;-)
Like a callback on button-presses or on analog-nub movement, or a sort of callback called every framestart.

Actually, I was reading through the toolchain source, and found sceRegisterButtonCallback (and if there was something for the analog nub too would be great...) but cannot get to compile, as it doesn't find a reference to sce_Kernel_{hex numbers here}...

Cheers, A.
Jim

Post by Jim »

You can probably do something like that, but I don't know how.