What is NID, how I could get and why

Discuss the development of new homebrew software, tools and libraries.

Moderators: cheriff, TyRaNiD

bubugian

What is NID, how I could get and why

Post by bubugian »

Hi all,
I'm new with psp programming so, please be patient if my questions are banal.

In some posts I found some reference to NID.
Seems that NID is used for hooking sce function.

I'm not sure to have understood so, I'm going to post some simple answer:

- What is NID ?
- Where is NID (how I discover it, with wich tools) ?
- Why I shoud hook a sce function ?
- How I coul hook a function ?

Thanks all !
slasher2661996

Post by slasher2661996 »

Q1: Well, a nid is the memory address 0x000000 etc. to a reference to a firmware function

Q2: http://silverspring.lan.st/

Q3: You should hook a function is you want to track the usage, do something before the function executes etc.

Q4: Search this forum "easy hook example"
m0skit0

Post by m0skit0 »

Q1: A NID is just a 32-bits function ID for the kernel to recognize it and resolve it on the ELF imports. It's the SHA1 hash for the function name. Each NID is unique (hopefuly) and it's related to an export library, which in turn is related to PRX modules.
Last edited by m0skit0 on Thu Aug 13, 2009 8:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The Incredible Bill Gates wrote:The obvious mathematical breakthrough would be development of an easy way to factor large prime numbers.
slasher2661996

Post by slasher2661996 »

m0skit0 wrote:Q1: NID is just a function ID for the kernel to recognize it and resolve it on the ELF imports. It's the SHA1 hash for the function name.
That, i didn't know ;)
Dariusc123456

Post by Dariusc123456 »

m0skit0 wrote:Q1: A NID is just a 32-bits function ID for the kernel to recognize it and resolve it on the ELF imports. It's the SHA1 hash for the function name. Each NID is unique (hopefuly) and it's related to an export library, which in turn is related to PRX modules.