PSP Development on a Win32(Specifically Vista) box

Discuss the development of new homebrew software, tools and libraries.

Moderators: cheriff, TyRaNiD

Kreationz

PSP Development on a Win32(Specifically Vista) box

Post by Kreationz »

First I'm new to PSP development. I done work coding for windows before, but never anything thing else. I don't really like the CYGWIN idea (although I did install it as listed here:http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Getting_St ... Laboratory

What I want to do is to be able to build and work on PSP projects I've found. The first project I'm try to build is Daedalus R13 from the source at Strmnnrmn's blog.

I've downloaded the source. I usually work in Visual Studio for all the Win32 apps I've written, but I realize the Tool Chain was developed for Linux. Now Daedalus does come in the form of a solution. So I figured it would be a good place to start, plus I want to work on and help the project out. But I can't get it to build. Finally, I know my first problem is with Makefile... but that's as far as I've gotten.

Are there special environment settings I need to setup first?
Can anyone give me any suggestions/help for PSP development in a W32 enviroment?
Heimdall

Post by Heimdall »

I'd suggest you to use: http://minpspw.sourceforge.net/

You don't need Cygwin and the SDK is updated. Most of the common dev libraries are available as devpaks so you can install and start coding.

I also created 2 small tutorials on how to code with Visual Studio or Eclipse, however I can only help on Eclipse since is my IDE, and VS is just a small extra.

However this post is biased because I'm the maintainer of that project ;)
angelo

Post by angelo »

Is there a way to updtae directly from the svn to DevKit Pro or environments like it?

It's hard to keep up with toolchain sometimes and it'll just be easier just to type in a line to update it all?

Is there a patch or a seperate piece of software that can be found to do this?

Angelo
Kreationz