Questions to help put me in the right direction....

Discuss the development of software, tools, libraries and anything else that helps make ps2dev happen.

Moderators: cheriff, Herben

Espionage724

Questions to help put me in the right direction....

Post by Espionage724 »

Hi everyone!

1. Can linux be installed to a slim PS2?

2. Can it be installed easily (if #1 is true)

3. Can any version of linux be installed or does it have to be a certain one?

4. Does linux have hardware accelration support for graphics on the PS2?

5. Can a windows program emulator (besides wine) be installed?

6. Does PS2 Linux support 5.1 and above sound systems?

7. If linux can be installed to a slim PS2, does the ethernet port work?

8. Would a usb wireless adapter work in a slim PS2?

9. Does PS2 linux have a GUI? (does any distro that supports PS2 have a GUI)

Also I'm new to the fourms!
emoon

Post by emoon »

You can start with searching the forums first
deba5er

Re: Questions to help put me in the right direction....

Post by deba5er »

Espionage724 wrote:Hi everyone!

1. Can linux be installed to a slim PS2?
Yes
2. Can it be installed easily (if #1 is true)
For someone experienced with Linux since there are some instructions on this maybe, but it is harder than on the fat ps2, and looks hard for a novice Linux installer due to use of root pivot.
3. Can any version of linux be installed or does it have to be a certain one?
If you have the official kit you can load that version, but the Blackrhino version on the site is the one everyone seems to use. I based my distro on it - http://www.4shared.com/dir/8728191/2a84 ... aring.html
4. Does linux have hardware accelration support for graphics on the PS2?