Segmentation fault?

Discuss the development of software, tools, libraries and anything else that helps make ps2dev happen.

Moderators: cheriff, Herben

Post Reply
NoEffex
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 6:48 am

Segmentation fault?

Post by NoEffex »

Well, when compiling the toolchain and it gets to the second script, the make -j 2 part of it, it hits a lovely segmentation fault.

Code: Select all

xgcc: Internal error: Segmentation fault (program as)
Please submit a full bug report.
See <URL&#58;http&#58;//www.gnu.org/software/gcc/bugs.html> for instructions.
make&#91;2&#93;&#58; *** &#91;libgcc/./_muldi3.o&#93; Error 1
make&#91;2&#93;&#58; *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
xgcc&#58; Internal error&#58; Segmentation fault &#40;program as&#41;
Please submit a full bug report.
See <URL&#58;http&#58;//www.gnu.org/software/gcc/bugs.html> for instructions.
make&#91;2&#93;&#58; *** &#91;libgcc/./_negdi2.o&#93; Error 1
make&#91;2&#93;&#58; Leaving directory `/home/aaron/Dev/ps2/ps2toolchain/build/gcc-3.2.2/build-ee-stage1/gcc'
make&#91;1&#93;&#58; *** &#91;libgcc.a&#93; Error 2
make&#91;1&#93;&#58; Leaving directory `/home/aaron/Dev/ps2/ps2toolchain/build/gcc-3.2.2/build-ee-stage1/gcc'
make&#58; *** &#91;all-gcc&#93; Error 2
../scripts/002-gcc-3.2.2-stage1.sh&#58; Failed.
The main difference between this OS and the last one is that this one is 64-bit fedora, while the last one is 32-bit. Wondering if anyone might have had this problem before and found a solution.
J.F.
Posts: 2906
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 11:41 am

Post by J.F. »

64 bit is not an issue for building the PS2 toolchain. The version of gcc used is. Set gcc to be an older version before building the PS2 toolchain. Like this...

Code: Select all

CC=gcc-3.4 toolchain.sh
NoEffex
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 6:48 am

Post by NoEffex »

Ah, I figured as much(as the PSP Toolchain compiles without flaw on 64-bit), and I also figured about the GCC being too high on my end. Thanks, I shall try that.
J.F.
Posts: 2906
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 11:41 am

Post by J.F. »

Well, I use 64 bit linux full-time, and where you run into 64 bit issues is with certain tools made for use with certain libs... like libito. I posted a fix for 64 bit issues in another thread here somewhere. I've been using 64 bit exclusively since Fedora Core 3. :)
Post Reply