Homebrew - External files?

General, off-topic discussion about things of interest to the members of these forums.

Moderator: cheriff

Kojima

Homebrew - External files?

Post by Kojima »

I'm new at this so I don't know the inner workings yet, but one thing just struck me. How do you access external files/models/textures etc in ps2 homebrew using ps2link?(Or naplink even)

I have a modded ps2, am I right in thinking once you require external media you have to either A) pack them in the source like on a gba etc or B) Start burning your game and media to cd every time and running directly?

I can do either without problem, I'd just rather know for sure I'm using the best method everyone else is.
Drakonite
Site Admin

Post by Drakonite »

ps2link provides this nifty 'host0' filesystem, which lets you read files from your pc
Shoot Pixels Not People!
Makeshift Development
Kojima

Post by Kojima »

Very nice, I wasn't looking forward to burning a game every build.

Know how it compares to reading from a dvd drive speed wise? I heard pslink transmits at 100mbs so I guess pretty good? (Said the bloke who had no idea at what speed a dvd is read)
jbit
Site Admin

Post by jbit »

The PS2 ethernet hardware is 100mbps. But the PS2 IP stack is very slow and unoptimized at the moment, you're lucky if you see 5-10mbit/sec.
And ontop of that "host:" is still a bit flakey, music will skip when streaming audio for example.
Some of us are in the process of fixing the PS2 IP stack, so it should get better in the future.
But for now, I wouldn't expect any decent speed out of the "host:" filesystem.
Drakonite
Site Admin

Post by Drakonite »

In the majority of cases you are likely to hit anytime soon, it should be 'good enough' ...

The main thing to keep in mind is to be smart about things; probably the biggest no-no to avoid is doing lots of small reads. Doing lots of small reads is horribly slow.
Shoot Pixels Not People!
Makeshift Development
Kojima

Post by Kojima »