SDL Port already in progress

Discuss the development of software, tools, libraries and anything else that helps make ps2dev happen.

Moderators: cheriff, Herben

Would you use SDL to write games for PS2DEV?

Absolutely!
70%
No, it wastes too much power...
14%
You're supposed to write games in PS2DEV?
11%
What's SDL?
5%

Total votes: 37

calvin

SDL Port already in progress

Post by calvin »

evilo sent me a private email alerting me to this thread. Obviously I have to monitor the forums more closely! [Sorry for the length - got carried away.]

FWIW, I'm a senior instructor/curriculum designer for both J2EE and Game Development at NextGen Education (www.nextgened.com) and a system architect/project manager for DragonTale Productions (www.dragontale.com) in Detroit. (We make more than cars here... :-)

We're currently in the middle of a Game Development track which focuses on using PS2DEV for console development. The students started off learning game mechanics and fundamentals (like C/C++, objects, threads, events) using SDL in x86/Linux. They were also beginning their portfolio of relatively simple games in this stage. The next stage was porting it to the PS2. They had the option to either rewrite the low-level access in PS2DEV, or to port SDL to PS2DEV. We looked at the PS2LINUX port, and knew that it wasn't going to be straightforward from that perspective.

The universal consensus was to port SDL. It turned out to be more straightforward than we thought - although there was nothing in the PS2LINUX code we could use. We're about a month and a half into the project, and we hope to have some of the core available for porting in the next week or so.