Poly Count for the PSP

Discuss the development of new homebrew software, tools and libraries.

Moderators: cheriff, TyRaNiD

Post Reply
Dariusc123456
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 12:46 am

Poly Count for the PSP

Post by Dariusc123456 »

Hey again

What is the total amount of polygons does a 3D model have to have to beable to run on the psp without any problems?
PSHN - Playstation Hacking Network
PSX/PS1 - HACK - Game Shark
PS2 - HACK - Swap
PSP - HACK - Pandora
PS3 - ?
Ooblik
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 1:47 pm

Post by Ooblik »

Exactly four... *sarcasm* WTF are you talkin about? lol
Dariusc123456
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 12:46 am

Post by Dariusc123456 »

Is there a limit to the amount faces the model has to have???
PSHN - Playstation Hacking Network
PSX/PS1 - HACK - Game Shark
PS2 - HACK - Swap
PSP - HACK - Pandora
PS3 - ?
jojojoris
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:06 am

Post by jojojoris »

I think the maximum is when you used all your ram for the vertex scructs you use.

Code: Select all

int main(){
     SetupCallbacks();
     makeNiceGame();
     sceKernelExitGame();
}
Dariusc123456
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 12:46 am

Post by Dariusc123456 »

lol, can anyone give me an esimate?
PSHN - Playstation Hacking Network
PSX/PS1 - HACK - Game Shark
PS2 - HACK - Swap
PSP - HACK - Pandora
PS3 - ?
slasher2661996
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 8:32 am
Location: Melbourne Australia ZOMG

Post by slasher2661996 »

it depends on the rest of the program (ie, how much ram the rest is using)
Dariusc123456
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 12:46 am

Post by Dariusc123456 »

Well, Im only using 45mb of ram, or trying to keep it there. I dont need another 800200D9 error because my packer program goes over the ram.
PSHN - Playstation Hacking Network
PSX/PS1 - HACK - Game Shark
PS2 - HACK - Swap
PSP - HACK - Pandora
PS3 - ?
rapso
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 6:35 am

Post by rapso »

65535-2 if it's a triangle strip
65535/3 if it's a triangle list
that's the maximum you can draw in one drawcall. you can splitup your mesh in as many of those parts as you'd like, then you've no limit.
User avatar
Jim
Posts: 476
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 10:06 pm
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Post by Jim »

Realistically? A few thousand to a few 10s of thousand per frame, textured, normal sized. If many of the polys get big, or there's lots of alpha, then it'll get slow. You need to look at the fill-rate specs to get anything more accurate.

Jim
Post Reply